My next post was suppose to be about Google Reader and I’ll get to it soon, but I got a bit distracted this morning when I opened my wordpress dashboard. I was looking at my comments and wondering about all the spam I get.

I’ve been getting quite a bit of comments filled with nonsense words, you know when you just hit keys really fast to fill up a page. Email addresses and links are the same way. Since I get to see what IP address the comment originated from I thought I’d check it out and found that I’m famous world wide!

  • 2/24 California
  • 2/21 Chelyabinsk in the Russian Federation
  • 2/15 Tokyo Japan
  • 2/12 Madrid Spain
  • 2/7 Hong Kong
  • 2/3 Atlanta, Georgia
  • 2/2 Belize City, Belize, Central America
  • 2/2 Amsterdam ~ spammed me 2 times … unusual to see same IP address show up and only 1 minute apart
  • 1/31 Maharashtra, India

There’s more but I got bored. I realize that this is only telling me where the server they are using is located, but someone in Texas, for example, is probably not using a server located in Chelyabinsk. The 2/24 IP address is a google server, so it’s probably someone with a gmail account and they most likely live in California.

Then there’s the advertising. “Come to my site and all the riches in the universe will automatically land at your feet … and all for free!” kind of thing. On the 18th, I got the exact same advertising blurb about “a very interesting way to market on facebook” from 2 different people at socialterrain.net: 2 different IP address, 2 email addresses that look legit (I didn’t check them out) at the exact same time. Are they paying people to post this stuff?

From ‘bad credit home equity loan’ I got: “Generally I don’t post on blogs, but I would wish to pronounce that this place in truth pushed me to make so! truly superb post.”  ~ Wow! A “truly superb post” … can I use that in my advertising and ignore the rest?

I also learned something that I didn’t know before: I didn’t realize there were so many longharry’s in the world:

  • “Damn, that sound’s so easy if you think about it.” -longharry498
  • “I cannot believe this is true!” -longharry49
  • “I cannot believe this will work!” -longharry46

And the author whose website is purecleansedetox.freehost10.com gets around a lot and apparently doesn’t have a lot of time: “Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time” was found on multiple sites. I got that message 2 times, but it seems she wasn’t sincere, because she never returned.

My point? I don’t have one, but I was curious and this is fun and, I’ll admit a bit of a distraction from all the paperwork I’m suppose to be working on today.

Happy Friday!

Advertisement